AlumNet home page linkUniversity of Buckingham Web site link
university crest
Tabs imageTabs imageTabs imageTabs image
Part of University crestYou are here - Home > General Information > Events
formatting image
Graduation Ball survivors 2013
 General Information
formatting image
formatting image
formatting image
formatting image
 Alumni Association (UBAA)
formatting image
 The Independent
formatting image
 Services for alumni
formatting image
formatting image
 AlumNet member search
formatting image
 About / contact us
formatting image
 Learn more / FAQ
formatting image
formatting image
 My account / Update my details
formatting image
 AlumNet site map
formatting image formatting image
Installation of the new Chancellor & UBAA Annual Event – 4 September 2010

On Saturday, 4 September 2010 the Installation of the new Chancellor, Lord Simon Tanlaw and the UBAA Annual Event, will take place. Following the Installation, in the Buckingham Parish Church of St Peter and St Paul, a series of events open to all alumni and their guests, has been organised on campus.

If you would like to attend please email confirming which of the events below you would like to attend, and the names of any guests coming with you, by Friday, 27 August 2010.

Although there is no charge for the actual event, attendees will need to make their own arrangements regarding travel to and from the event and any accommodation required. They will also need to pay for drinks at the evening dinner and party.

Hope to see you there!

Suzanna Tomassi
Chair, UBAA


12:30 Garden Party / Buffet Lunch in the marquee on Beloff Lawn
15:00 UBAA: 15-minute Question & Answer session by Lord Tanlaw in the Chandos Road Building
15:15 UBAA Forum: "Government Intervention – Friend or Foe?"
A stimulating and thought provoking debate during which a panel of speakers will put forward their opinions on the benefits, or otherwise, of government intervention.


  • Alison Phillips OBE – Independent Member of the Thames Valley Police Authority and formerly of the FCO and University of Buckingham Council
  • Professor Patricia Morgan – Author and Visiting Fellow at the School of Humanities, University of Buckingham
  • Sara Sutcliffe – (Law, 1993), Legal Director of the British Olympic Association
  • Professor Martin Ricketts – Dean of Humanities, University of Buckingham

Suzanna Tomassi, UBAA Chair, will chair the panel

17:00 UBAA Annual General Meeting
18:00 Drinks in the OTM Bar
18:30 UBAA Alumni Dinner in the Staff Dining Room, OTM (Maximum of 40 places)
20:00 Party the night away in the OTM

Speaker Profiles

Alison Phillips OBE

Alison was a member of the University's Governing Council from 2003 to 2010, serving in a number of roles including chairing the Audit Committee and as a member of the Honorary Awards Committee.

She was previously a fast-stream member of the Diplomatic Service and served in a number of posts, both at home and abroad, during her 25 year career. She was awarded an OBE for services to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in 1990.

Alison has also served as a Non-Executive Director of an NHS Trust, and is currently an Independent Member of the Thames Valley Police Authority and the Chairman of the Buckinghamshire BCU Police Committee. She is also the Chairman of Buckinghamshire's Cancer Care and Haematology Fund, which is based at Stoke Mandeville Hospital. She lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and 14 year old daughter.

Patricia Morgan

Patricia Morgan has published extensively on crime, the family, adoption and welfare policy over more than twenty years. Her most recent books are Family Structure and Economic Outcomes (2004), for the Economic Research Council, Family Matters: Family Breakdown and Its Consequences (a study in the New Zealand context, 2004) and Family Policies, Family Changes (based on Sweden, Italy and the UK, published in 2006). She is Visiting Fellow at the School of Humanities, University of Buckingham.

Sara Sutcliffe

Sara Sutcliffe (née Friend) graduated from Buckingham in 1993 having studied Law.

After graduating Sara became an Associate at the legal firm Baker & McKenzie before becoming Director of Legal Services at the British Olympic Association where she also represents the BOA on the Sport Resolutions Board.

Earlier this year she was involved in a panel debate at the In-House Council Conference debating the topic "Generating Maximum Value from Your Relationships with External Advisors".

Martin Ricketts

Martin Ricketts is Professor of Economic Organisation and Dean of Humanities at the University of Buckingham. He has published in professional journals on the Theory of the Firm, Public Choice and the New Institutional Economics. He is author of The Economics of Energy (1980) (with Michael. G. Webb), British Economic Opinion (1990) (with Edward Shoesmith) and is sole author of The Many Ways of Governance (1999) and The Economics of Business Enterprise (3rd ed., 2002). He was Economic Director of the National Economic Development Office (UK) 1991-1992, Dean of the School of Business at the University of Buckingham 1993-1997, and is chairman of the Academic Advisory Council and a managing trustee of the Institute of Economic Affairs.

  • The programme is also available in PDF format: agm.pdf (659 KB)

Who's going to be there?

Peter Adediran (LLB, 1990)
James Baker (LLM, 2007)
Richard Melville Ballerand (AFM, 1984)
Laura Ballerand (Visiting Student, 1982)
Wilhelm Bourne (LLB, 1987)
Fiona Button (LLB, 1999)
Tony Chaipa (AFM, 2004)
Andrew Christodoulou (LLB, 1986)
Helen Chung (LLB, 1987)
Bo Kay Chung (LLB, 2009)
William Cofie (LLM, 2004)
Anthony Crawforth (Biography, 2009)
Wendy Crawforth (Decorative Arts, 2004)
Paul Davis (English Literature, 2008)
Chris Doe (MMC, 2010)
Chris Gibbs (ESMM, 2006)
Caroline Goulding (English Literature / History, 2006)
Neil Guy (HAHM, 2003)
Christina Horton (Military History, 2010)
Damani Horton (Law)
Mitsuhiko Iyoda (Management, 1996)
Rufat Jafarov (MBA, 2010)
Bethan Jeremy (English Literature, 2009)
Alexander Johns (Business Studies, 1992)

Lorinda Long (LLB, 1995)
Lopez-Sanchez Roberto (LLM, 2005)
Brian Marinoff (MBA, 2009)
Anne Matsuoka (PR / Alumni Relations Officer)
Dean Miah (LLB, 1998)
Philipp Mueller (Global Affairs, 2009)
Lydia Neusser (Business Economics)
Marian Okunola (LLB, 2008)
Sean Obedih (Business Enterprise)
Patricia Prada Jimenez (International Studies / French, 2006)
Dominic Randall (MBA, 2009)
Karel Slajs (AFM, 1999)
Jayesh Soni (LLB, 2006)
Richard Straughan (LLB, 1987)
David Stopp (Politics and History)
Ekaterina Sukhorukova (LLM, 2010)
Sara Sutcliffe (LLB, 1993)
Suzanna Tomassi (Service Management, 2002)
Philipp von Both (Business Studies, 2001)
Ruprecht von Heusing (Economics, 1993)
Gordon Wong (LLB, 1997)
John Wood (LLB)

See also:

formatting image
formatting image
formatting image
formatting image
formatting image